Configuring SQL Server User Rights for Automatic Profile Deletion

Instructions for configuring user rights in SQL Server to automatically delete profile databases when a user deletes a profile.

When a user deletes a Visitor Data Mart profile, it is removed from the Administration interface, but its databases persist, occupying disk space on Visitor Data Mart servers. You can enable automatic deletion of profile databases by manually adding a permission to the system service group in SQL Server.
Note: You must make changes to allow automatic profile database deletion after installation, but before users have an opportunity to delete profiles in the Administration user interface. If profiles are deleted using Administration before you change system service permissions, follow the instructions in “Deleting Marketing Warehouse Profiles” in the Visitor Data Mart Software Administrator’s Guide.
  1. On the computer where your event database is located, connect to the Event Database in SQL Server Management Studio.
  2. Expand the Security list and then expand the Logins list.
  3. Right-click on the login used for the System Services (as specified during installation) and select Properties.
  4. In the Login Properties dialog, select Server Roles.
  5. Select dbcreator.
  6. Click OK.

Was this topic helpful? Send feedback.